Government of New Brunswick

New Brunswick is home to four public universities which offer a wide variety of educational programs.

  • The University of New Brunswick, with its main campus in Fredericton and another in Saint John, is the oldest English-language university in Canada, and is the province's largest university.
  • St. Thomas University is a small institution in Fredericton whose central liberal arts program is complemented by professional programs in education and social work.
  • Mount Allison University, located in the Town of Sackville, offers undergraduate programs in arts, science, commerce, fine arts and music.
  • Université de Moncton, Canada 's largest francophone institution outside of the province of Quebec, has its main campus in the City of Moncton, with satellite campuses in the City of Edmundston and the Town of Shippagan.

New Brunswick Community College (NBCC) provides post-secondary education in English in more than 90 programs. It has six campuses in Fredericton, Saint John, Moncton, Woodstock, Miramichi and St. Andrews. NBCC  offers everything from academic studies to mechanical engineering, from health care to construction trades to advanced technologies. Most NBCC programs involve 40 to 80 weeks of study, with co-op programs longer in duration.

The Collège communautaire du Nouveau-Brunswick (CCNB) is a primarily francophone post-secondary institution that also offers some programs in English. It brings together five campuses located in Bathurst, Campbellton, Dieppe, Edmundston, and the Acadian Peninsula. Each campus provides high quality educational services and training and values the importance of a skilled, well-trained workforce that responds to changing job demands.

New Brunswick College of Craft and Design (NBCCD) is located in Fredericton and offers educational programs, workshops and learning opportunities in the field of arts and applied arts. First established in 1938, the NBCCD is the only college in Canada that focuses entirely on fine crafts and design. 

The provincially-funded public education system, Kindergarten to Grade 12, is offered through a dual system of English and French schools. Attendance at New Brunswick public schools is compulsory until the completion of high school or the age of 18. In addition, Early Childhood Services is now part of the Department’s mandate to create a continuum of learning from birth to high school graduation within a robust system with greater policy coherence and to focus on children from birth to age eight.

The Province's Education Act distributes authorities and responsibilities between the provincial government, as represented by the Minister of Education and Early Childhood Development and District Education Councils (DECs), which are elected at the local level every four years.

Generally, the minister establishes and monitors the educational and service standards and policy framework. The DECs, through the superintendents of their school districts, are responsible for program implementation and operation of the schools. 

For administrative purposes, the province is divided into seven school districts, four Anglophone and three francophone. The governance structure also includes school-based advisory committees known as Parent School Support Committees. Members are elected at the school level and serve three-year terms. Related Links