Government of New Brunswick

The Local Governance Act came into force on January 1, 2018. The Act sets out the powers and responsibilities of New Brunswick’s various local entities. It also provides the legislative framework for the general operation of municipalities, rural communities, regional municipalities, and the administration of the province’s unincorporated areas, known as local service districts (LSDs).

As the new Local Governance Act replaces the former Municipalities Act, this guide is intended to provide an overview of the new legislation.  It is for information purposes only, and is not an authoritative interpretation of the Local Governance Act. In the event of any inconsistency between this document and the Local Governance Act or its regulations, the Local Governance Act or its regulations will prevail. This document is not and should not be construed as legal advice. A lawyer should be consulted on questions about the application or interpretation of the laws of New Brunswick as they relate to the subject matter of this document.

Other agencies, such as provincial departments, the federal government, and municipalities, may have requirements not addressed or included in this guide.

This guide may be reviewed and updated periodically as appropriate by the Department of Environment and Local Government.