FREDERICTON (GNB) – With the close of nominations today, byelections and a first-election will be held on Monday, May 15, in the following municipalities:

  • Haut-Madawaska (one mayor, two councillors for Ward 1, two councillors Ward 2, two councillors Ward 3, two councillors Ward 4)
  • Le Goulet (one councillor)
  • Maisonnette (one councillor)
  • Salisbury (one councillor)

Candidates were elected by acclamation in:

  • Kedgwick (two councillors, Réginald Lurette, Lyne Savoie )
  • Saint-André (councillor Ward 2, Cyril Michaud, councillor, Ward 1, Michel Rioux)
  • Shippagan (councillor, Percy Mallet)

Candidates have until 5 p.m. on Monday April 24, if they wish to withdraw their name. One day of advance voting is scheduled for Saturday, May 6. Polls will be open from 10 a.m. until 8 p.m.