Elections New Brunswick
New Chief Electoral Officer sworn in

New Brunswick’s new Chief Electoral Officer, Kim Poffenroth, was officially sworn in during a ceremony held Tuesday morning at the Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick. Poffenroth was appointed a legislative officer by Premier Brian Gallant last December and most recently served as Assistant Deputy Attorney General and Chief Legislative Counsel in the Office of the Attorney General. From left: Chris Collins, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly, and Poffenroth.

Future Voters

Elections New Brunswick participated today in a Youth Governance Program offered to Grade 3 students in Saint John. A class from Princess Elizabeth School went to city hall to learn about the function of local government and the council. As part of their experience, Elections New Brunswick set up a mock polling station and allowed students to cast mock ballots. Paul Harpelle, director of communications and community outreach, also explained the role Elections New Brunswick plays in running municipal and provincial elections.

Training for election officials

Municipal election training officers spent a day in Fredericton to attend a refresher course on election procedures. This is in preparation for the municipal byelections scheduled for November, as well as future byelections. Included in their one-day session is training on an updated model of the tabulation machine, which will be used in the polling stations as well as returning offices. Fourteen election officers took part in the training. In photo, at right, Craig Astle, director of operations at Elections NB, instructs election officers.

Election workers visit Elections NB warehouse

Municipal returning officers and election clerks toured the Elections New Brunswick warehouse in Fredericton on Thursday. In March, the pallets containing equipment and supplies needed to run an election will be shipped to their returning offices as preparations continue for the May 2016 municipal elections.

Getting ready for spring municipal elections

Elections New Brunswick took delivery of 30 tons (more than 66,000 lbs) of paper at its warehouse this week. The paper will be used to print more than 1.6 million ballots for the municipal council, education council and health authority elections being held in May. A total of 544 different ballots styles will be required for all the different contests to be held. In photo, municipal chief electoral officer Michael Quinn checks out the pallets of blank ballet paper delivered to the Elections NB warehouse.

Voting process explained to students

Officials from Elections New Brunswick participated in a career expo at Hampton Elementary School on Nov. 5. The voting process was explained to the students who then cast their ballots at a mock polling station set up in the school’s gymnasium.

Election Ready

Poll workers have been trained on how to assemble ballot boxes to be used during voting in the municipal by-elections being held next month. Advance voting takes place Saturday, April 25, with the election on Monday, May 4. Polls will be open both days from 10 a.m. until 8 p.m. From left: tabulation machine operators Sylvia Coughlin and Barbara Kennedy assemble a ballot box. The two will work at polling stations during the by-election in Fredericton.

Returning offices open as September election officially underway

Chief electoral officer Michael Quinn signed the 49 writs of election which officially began the provincial general election scheduled for Sept. 22. Elections New Brunswick opened its returning offices across the province today.

New Brunswick dairy partners with Elections NB to promote September vote

Elections NB is teaming up with Northumberland Cooperative Dairy to promote the September provincial election. Starting this month, Northumberland will carry a message on the side panel of its two-litre milk cartons reminding New Brunswickers of the Sept. 22 election. The message will appear on thousands of two-litre milk cartons during the six-week campaign. This is the third time the dairy has collaborated with Elections NB to encourage voters to go to the polls. In the photo: Jack Christie, general manager of Northumberland Cooperative Dairy.

Training for elections officials

Today was the first training session for returning officers, election clerks and training officers hired to conduct the September provincial election. The classroom-based training in Fredericton is in preparation for the Sept. 22 provincial general election. This training will take place over the next three weeks. Elections NB expects to hire and train more than 5,000 people to work at the 625 ordinary and advance polling stations and 49 returning offices that will be set up the election.

Assistive Technology for Voters with Disabilities

At the Disability Awareness Week breakfast held in Fredericton on Tuesday, June 3, Elections New Brunswick showcased the audio vote system that will be available at the 50 returning offices across the province during the fall provincial election. The technology features a braille controller, paddles as well as a sip-n-puff option, which will allow voters with disabilities to cast a ballot independently. From left: Assistant Chief Electoral Office David Owens and Paul Harpelle, director of communications, Elections New Brunswick.

Chief electoral officer explains voting for the upcoming provincial election to university students

Michael Quinn, chief electoral officer, visited the Fredericton and Saint John campuses of the University of New Brunswick to explain plans by Elections NB to increase the number of students who will vote in the Sept. 22 provincial election. Quinn is shown at the Saint John campus, explaining that students will have two options: voting for a candidate in their home riding; or voting for a candidate in the riding where they live while attending university.

Training session for returning officers and clerks

In preparation for the general provincial election in September, 20 returning officers and clerks participated in a training session in Fredericton today. It was the final in a series of training sessions held across the province over the past 3 weeks. A major focus of the one-day sessions has been familiarizing the returning officers and clerks with new electoral districts, which have been redrawn for the 2014 provincial election. In photo, Craig Astle, director of operations with Elections New Brunswick, goes over the tasks to be performed over the next few months by the returning officers and clerks.

Preparations underway for 2014 general election

Preparations are underway at Elections New Brunswick for the next provincial general election in about eight months. The various materials required for returning offices and polling locations across the province are being assembled at the Elections New Brunswick warehouse for shipping in early August. Voters go to the polls on Sept. 22. The photo shows Elections New Brunswick employees Chris Gloade and Jason Brown assembling the pallets containing the materials.

Casting their first vote!

Grade 9 students at Oromocto High School learned the basics about voting in a provincial or municipal election during a recent presentation by Elections NB. They were given the opportunity to experience voting first-hand using a demonstration ballot.

High school students to work at polling locations

More than 20 students from the two high schools in the provincial riding of Kent will be working at the polls during the April 15 byelection. The students from Bonar Law Memorial High School and Ėcole Clement Cormier are participating in a program supported by the Department of Education and Early Childhood Development. Front row, from left: Peter Simon; Andrea Leger, Kent Returning Officer; Micah Carruthers. Back row, from left: Roger LeBlanc, Elections New Brunswick training officer, and students, Dawson Warman; Vennesa Steinmann; Natasha Daigle and Brodie Theriault.

High school students learn about electoral process

Chief electoral officer Michael Quinn visited Simonds High School in Saint John on Nov. 19 to speak to a political science class about the electoral process.

Voting in New Brunswick

Delegates attending the annual conference of the New Brunswick Multicultural Council learned the basics about voting in New Brunswick during a workshop on the electoral process. David Owens, assistant electoral officer, discusses the role of Elections NB in administering provincial and municipal elections.

Canada's Democracy Week

Elections NB supported Canada's Democracy Week, Sept. 15-22, by participating in workshops and student forums. Elections NB took part in a workshop at the University of New Brunswick in Fredericton on Friday, Sept. 21. Canada's Democracy Week, a civic education initiative organized by Elections Canada, aims to raise awareness of democracy and the importance of voting. Chief Electoral Officer Mike Quinn, addresses students at the workshop.

Canada's Democracy Week

Elections NB supported Canada's Democracy Week, Sept. 15-22, by participating in workshops and student forums. Elections NB took part in a workshop at the University of New Brunswick in Fredericton on Friday, Sept. 21. Canada's Democracy Week, a civic education initiative organized by Elections Canada, aims to raise awareness of democracy and the importance of voting. Chief Electoral Officer Mike Quinn, addresses students at the workshop.

New Brunswick dairy partners with Elections NB to promote May vote

Elections NB is teaming up with Northumberland Co-Operative Dairy to promote the May 14 elections. This is the second time that the dairy has collaborated with Elections NB to encourage voters to go to the polls. From left: Jack Christie, general manager, Northumberland Co-operative Dairy; and Mike Quinn, municipal electoral officer.

Election readiness

The supplies required to open 23 municipal returning offices and satellite offices in preparation for the May 2012 Municipal, District Education Council and Regional Health Authority elections were loaded onto tractor trailers at the Elections NB warehouse. The 53 pallets contain everything from paper clips to computers and even the garbage cans needed to set up the offices and polling stations across the province. The Municipal Returning Offices will open to the public on Monday March 26, 2012. In photo: Elections NB employee, Jason Brown, manoeuvres a pallet onto the waiting trailer.

Training begins for May elections

Municipal returning officers, election clerks and training officers are attending classroom-based training in Fredericton in preparation for the municipal, district education council and regional health authority elections being held May 14. At a voter tabulation machine, are, from left: Nathan Phillips, assistant electoral officer, Elections NB; and Lauren Cummings.

Chief Electoral Officer urges public to consider offering as candidates in upcoming elections

Chief Electoral Officer Michael Quinn used a speaking engagement at the Sussex Rotary Club to encourage people to consider offering as a candidate for the May municipal, district education council, and regional health authority elections. In photo Quinn.

Élections Nouveau-Brunswick
Futurs électeurs

Élections Nouveau-Brunswick a participé, aujourd’hui, à un programme de gouvernance des jeunes offert aux élèves de troisième année à Saint John. Une classe d'élèves de la Princess Elizabeth School est allée à l'hôtel de ville pour en apprendre davantage sur le rôle du gouvernement local et du conseil municipal. Dans le cadre de cette activité, Élections Nouveau-Brunswick a mis sur pied un bureau de vote simulé et permis aux élèves de déposer un bulletin de vote simulé. Le directeur des communications et des relations communautaires, Paul Harpelle, a également expliqué le rôle que joue Élections Nouveau-Brunswick dans les élections municipales et provinciales.

Formation du personnel pour les élections

Des agents de la formation pour les élections municipales ont passé la journée à Fredericton pour assister à un cours de rappel sur les procédures électorales. Cette formation vise à les préparer pour les élection partielles municipales qui auront lieu en novembre ainsi que pour celles qui auront lieu dans l’avenir. Au cours de la session d’une journée, ils ont reçu une formation sur un nouveau modèle de machine à compilation qui sera utilisé aux bureaux de scrutin ainsi qu’aux bureaux des directeurs du scrutin. Quatorze agents de la formation ont participé à cette formation. Dans la photo, à droite, le directeur des opérations à Élections N.-B., Craig Astle, offre la formation aux agents.

Le personnel électoral visite l’entrepôt d’Élections NB

Les directeurs et secrétaires du scrutin municipal ont visité l’entrepôt d’Élections Nouveau-Brunswick à Fredericton jeudi. En mars, l’équipement et le matériel nécessaires à la tenue d’une élection seront expédiés aux bureaux des directeurs du scrutin alors que les préparatifs se poursuivent en prévision des élections municipales de mai 2016.

Lancement des préparatifs pour les élections municipales du printemps

Élections Nouveau-Brunswick a reçu 30 tonnes (plus de 66 000 livres) de papier à son entrepôt cette semaine. Le papier sera utilisé pour imprimer plus de 1,6 million de bulletins de vote pour l’élection, en mai, des conseils municipaux, des conseils d’éducation et des conseils d’administration des régies de la santé. Au total, il faudra 544 bulletins de styles différents pour les divers scrutins. Dans la photo, on aperçoit le directeur général des élections municipales, Michael Quinn, qui supervise la livraison du papier dans l’entrepôt d’Élections Nouveau-Brunswick.

Des élèves en apprennent plus sur le processus électoral

Des représentants d’Élections Nouveau-Brunswick ont participé à une expo-carrière à la Hampton Elementary School, le 5 novembre. Le processus électoral a été expliqué aux élèves, qui ont ensuite eu l’occasion de « voter » en déposant leur bulletin de vote dans un bureau de scrutin fictif installé dans le gymnase de l’école.

Prêtes pour l’élection

Les travailleurs au scrutin ont appris à assembler les urnes qui seront utilisées pendant le vote lors des élections partielles municipales qui auront lieu le mois prochain. Le scrutin par anticipation a lieu le samedi 25 avril et le jour du scrutin ordinaire est prévu le lundi 4 mai. Le scrutin est ouvert les deux jours de 10 heures à 20 heures. Dans l’ordre habituel : deux opératrices de la machine à compilation, Sylvia Coughlin et Barbara Kennedy, assemblent une urne. Elles travailleront au bureau de vote lors de l'élection partielle de Fredericton.

Ouverture des bureaux des directeurs du scrutin à la suite du déclenchement officiel des élections de septembre

Le directeur général des élections, Michael Quinn, a signé les 49 brefs d’élection donnant le coup d’envoi aux élections générales provinciales qui se tiendront le 22 septembre. Élections Nouveau-Brunswick a ouvert, aujourd’hui, ses bureaux des directeurs du scrutin dans l’ensemble de la province.

Partenariat entre une laiterie et Élections NB en vue de promouvoir l’élection de septembre

Élections NB s'associe à la laiterie coopérative Northumberland pour faire la promotion de l’élection provinciale de septembre. Dès ce mois-ci, un message figurera sur l'une des parois latérales des cartons de lait de deux litres de Northumberland, rappelant l’élection du 22 septembre aux Néo-Brunswickois. Le message apparaîtra sur des milliers de cartons de lait de deux litres pendant la campagne de six semaines. C'est la troisième fois que la laiterie s'associe avec Élections NB pour encourager les électeurs à se rendre aux urnes. Sur la photo : le directeur général de la laiterie coopérative Northumberland, Jack Christie.

Formation du personnel pour les élections

Aujourd'hui avait lieu la première séance de formation pour les directeurs et secrétaires du scrutin et les agents de formation qui seront responsables des différentes tâches entourant la tenue de l’élection générale provinciale de septembre prochain. Ces séances de formation en salle de classe se tiennent à Fredericton au cours des trois prochaines semaines. Élections NB prévoit l’embauche et la formation de plus de 5000 personnes chargées de voir au bon déroulement des élections dans les 625 bureaux de scrutin, de vote par anticipation et des 49 bureaux des directeurs de scrutin qui sont prévus pour l'élection.

Technologie d’assistance pour les électeurs ayant un handicap

Lors du récent déjeuner de la Semaine de sensibilisation à la situation des personnes handicapées, qui a eu lieu à Fredericton, le mardi 3 juin, Élections Nouveau-Brunswick a présenté le système de vote audio qui sera disponible dans les 50 bureaux des directeurs du scrutin de la province lors des prochaines élections provinciales. La technologie comprenant des contrôleurs avec inscriptions en braille, ainsi qu’un système pouvant être activé par le souffle, permettra aux électeurs ayant un handicap de voter de façon autonome. Dans l’ordre habituel : le directeur général adjoint des élections, David Owens; et Paul Harpelle, directeur des communications à Élections Nouveau-Brunswick.

Le directeur général des élections explique les options de vote des étudiants en prévisions des prochaines élections provinciales

Le directeur général des élections, Michael Quinn, a récemment visité l'Université du Nouveau-Brunswick, campus de Fredericton et de Saint John, afin d'expliquer les plans d'Élections NB pour accroître le nombre d'étudiants qui vont voter lors des prochaines élections provinciales, prévues pour le 22 septembre. Sur la photo, M. Quinn prend la parole lors d'un cours de science politique au campus de Saint John afin d'expliquer que les étudiants auront deux options lors du vote : voter pour un candidat dans leur circonscription, ou voter pour un candidat dans la circonscription où ils vivent pendant qu'ils sont aux études.

Séances de formation pour les directeurs et les secrétaires du scrutin

En prévision de l'élection générale provinciale de septembre prochain, 20 directeurs et secrétaires du scrutin ont participé à une session de formation à Fredericton aujourd'hui. Il s'agissait de la dernière d'une série de séances de formation organisées dans l'ensemble de la province au cours des trois dernières semaines. Les séances, d'une durée d'une journée, avait pour objectif principal de familiariser les directeurs et les secrétaires du scrutin avec les nouvelles circonscriptions électorales, qui ont été redessinées en vue de l'élection provinciale de 2014. Sur la photo : Craig Astle, directeur des opérations à Élections Nouveau-Brunswick, présente les tâches qui devront être accomplies au cours des prochains mois par les directeurs et les secrétaires du scrutin.

Préparatifs en cours en vue de l’élection générale de 2014

Les préparatifs sont en cours à Élections Nouveau-Brunswick en vue de la prochaine élection générale provinciale qui aura lieu dans environ huit mois. Le matériel requis pour les bureaux des directeurs du scrutin et les bureaux de vote est présentement en préparation à l’entrepôt d’Élections Nouveau-Brunswick, et il sera envoyé aux quatre coins de la province au début du mois d’août. Les électeurs iront aux urnes le 22 septembre. Sur la photo : Chris Gloade et Jason Brown, employés d’Élections Nouveau-Brunswick, qui procèdent à la préparation du matériel.

Voter pour la première fois!

Des élèves de 9e année de la Oromocto High School ont appris les notions élémentaires nécessaires pour voter à une élection provinciale ou municipale lors d'une récente présentation donnée par Élections NB. Ils ont pu vivre directement l’expérience du vote en utilisant un bulletin de vote de démonstration.

Des élèves du secondaire travailleront aux bureaux de scrutin

Plus de 20 élèves provenant de deux écoles secondaires dans la circonscription électorale de Kent travailleront aux bureaux de scrutin pendant l’élection partielle du 15 avril. Les étudiants de la Bonar Law Memorial High School et de l'école Clément Cormier participent à un programme appuyé par le ministère de l’Éducation et du Développement de la petite enfance permettant à Élections Nouveau-Brunswick d’embaucher des étudiants du niveau secondaire pour travailler aux bureaux de vote pendant les élections. Sur la photo, dans l'ordre habituel, à l'avant : Peter Simon; Andréa Léger, directrice du scrutin de Kent; Micah Carruthers. À l'arrière : Roger LeBlanc, agent de la formation d’Élections Nouveau-Brunswick, et les élèves Dawson Warman, Vennesa Steinmann, Natasha Daigle et Brodie Theriault.

Des élèves du secondaire en apprennent davantage sur le processus électoral

Le directeur général des élections, Michael Quinn, a visité la Simonds High School à Saint John, le 19 novembre, pour discuter du processus électoral avec les élèves d’une classe de sciences politiques.

Le vote au Nouveau-Brunswick

Les délégués qui ont assisté à la conférence annuelle du Conseil multiculturel du Nouveau-Brunswick ont appris les rudiments du vote au Nouveau-Brunswick lors d’un atelier sur processus électoral. Le directeur général adjoint des élections, David Owens, a parlé à la conférence du rôle d’Élections Nouveau-Brunswick vis-à-vis l’administration des élections provinciales et municipales dans la province.

La Semaine canadienne de la démocratie

Élections NB a apporté son appui à la Semaine canadienne de la démocratie, qui s’est déroulée du 15 au 22 septembre, en participant à des ateliers et à des forums étudiants. Élections NB a notamment participé à un atelier à l'Université du Nouveau-Brunswick, à Fredericton, le vendredi 21 septembre. La Semaine canadienne de la démocratie est une initiative d'éducation civique organisée par Élections Canada qui vise à sensibiliser surtout les jeunes à la démocratie et à l'importance de voter. Le directeur général des élections, Mike Quinn, a pris la parole devant les participants à l’atelier.

La Semaine canadienne de la démocratie

Élections NB a apporté son appui à la Semaine canadienne de la démocratie, qui s’est déroulée du 15 au 22 septembre, en participant à des ateliers et à des forums étudiants. Élections NB a notamment participé à un atelier à l'Université du Nouveau-Brunswick, à Fredericton, le vendredi 21 septembre. La Semaine canadienne de la démocratie est une initiative d'éducation civique organisée par Élections Canada qui vise à sensibiliser surtout les jeunes à la démocratie et à l'importance de voter. Le directeur général des élections, Mike Quinn, a pris la parole devant les participants à l’atelier.

Partenariat entre une laiterie du Nouveau-Brunswick et Élections NB pour promouvoir le vote en mai

Élections NB s’associe à la laiterie coopérative Northumberland pour faire la promotion des élections du 14 mai. C'est la deuxième fois que la laiterie collabore avec Élections NB pour encourager les électeurs à se rendre aux urnes. Dans l'ordre habituel : Jack Christie directeur général de la laiterie coopérative Northumberland, et Michael Quinn, directeur des élections municipales.

Préparation pour les élections

Le matériel nécessaire à l'aménagement de 23 bureaux du scrutin municipaux et bureaux satellites sont en cours de préparation pour les élections municipales, des conseils de d'éducation de district et des régies régionales de la santé qui auront lieu en mai prochain. Le matériel a été chargé sur des remorques aux entrepôts d’Élections NB. Les 53 palettes contiennent de tout, y compris des trombones, des ordinateurs et même des poubelles; tout ce dont il est nécessaire pour mettre en place les bureaux de vote à travers la province. Les bureaux de scrutin seront ouverts au public le lundi 26 mars 2012. Sur la photo: un employé d’Élections NB, Jason Brown, déplace une palette sur la remorque.

Début de la formation en prévision des élections en mai

Les directeurs et directrices du scrutin municipal, les secrétaires du scrutin et les agents de formation participent à une formation en salle de classe à Fredericton, en prévision des élections municipales, des conseils d'éducation de district et des régies régionales de la santé qui auront lieu le 14 mai. Sur la photo, près d'une machine de compilation des votes, dans l'ordre habituel : Nathan Phillips, directeur adjoint des élections à Élections Nouveau-Brunswick, et Lauren Cummings.

Le directeur général des élections invite les gens à poser leur candidature aux élections

Le directeur général des élections, Michael Quinn, a pris la parole au club Rotary de Sussex, et il a profité de cette occasion pour encourager les gens à songer à poser leur candidature aux élections municipales ainsi qu’aux élection des conseils d’éducation de district et des régies régionales de la santé, qui auront lieu en mai. Sur la photo : M. Quinn.